The Better Business Bureau

Did I tell you I love the Better Business Bureau?

They really are wonderful.  They sent 2 notices to Honda Re:  my complaint.  Finally Honda issued a reply.    I don’t know who did the “responding”, but this person clearly lives in a make-belief world.  And they made it sound so good too…like they really give a damn.

———————————

“Two days after winter tune up, battery was dead in my driveway. Had to call CAA to install a new battery.

(Hondas response : It is possible that something drained the battery 2 days after we had checked the vehicle for service. It is very hard for us to confirm or deny battery failure when the vehicle was not brought back to us for further testing )

Was promised $130 compensation; have yet to get the cheque despite frequent visits and phone calls to service manager

(Hondas Response: The $130 cheque was a remibursement I offered to the customer in regards to the powersteering feed hose recall. the customer stated that she had to have an outside garage replace the line after us, But she had no invoice to offer me as she said she paid cash. I offered the price she told me in good faith).

Other complaints in the past include:

1. Car detailing (one mat missing)

2. Flat Tire after having it serviced there

( Hondas Response: Anything could have happened with a flat tire. If the customer can provide an invoice for what the concern was I would be more than willing to review it and see if I can assist at all.).

3. Car Part Recalled, mechanic nicked another line forcing me to come back to get it fixed. Mechanic made the situation worse by using a universal clamp instead of a Honda clamp. I had to go to another mechanic and get the whole line/clamp replaced.”

( Hondas Response:  Again this goes back to the $130 reimbursement that the customer has received as of now and it was refunded in good faith as she could not provide us with a receipt of replacement as she paid cash).

Ms.Pisani is a valued customer of Parkway Honda and we would hate for anything to come between our relationship with her and her family. I will do everything I can to locate a replacement mat for her and I would like to offer her a complimentary complete detail for her to use at her discretion.

2013-11-08   TSS EMAIL Forward Business response to Consumer

2013-11-12   WEB BBB RECEIVED CONSUMER REBUTTAL : (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

My Response

I was promised $130 for servicing at Honda in December 2012 by customer service manager  (RB) because I had my car serviced (Winter Tune Up) and the mechanic failed to tell me that there was anything wrong with my battery.  The battery was not drained or I would have simply needed a boost.  I decided to use that credit for $130 by taking my car in for detailing in the spring of 2013, except my husband ended up PAYING THE ENTIRE AMOUNT FOR IT.  According to the cashier, there was NO RECORD to be found of a credit for $130.  This is the money I would like reimbursed, as I owe it to my husband.  I received a cheque from Honda on October 15th ($146.90).

I was NEVER offered any money re: power steering hose.  In fact, I emailed service manager (AP) on November 4, A BILL FOR THE SERVICES RENDERED, plus the following letter. (Please note:  I would be happy to  email the BBB or Honda both the CAA Battery Bill the Power Steering bills, if necessary).

I wanted to let you know that I received a check from Honda with regards to the battery problem I experienced after having a tune up at your dealership.

However, there are still two existing issues which need to be addressed.

1.  My missing car mat after detailing work was done on my car

2.  Problems with my car due to servicing at Honda on March 27, 2013 (L54 Recall; installation of an updated power steering feed)

In the spring, I noticed something leaking from my car on my driveway and took my car to an ex-honda mechanic.  He asked me if I had taken my car in for a Power Steering recall recently because a line had been nicked in that location.  He then told me that I shouldn’t have to pay to get it fixed and to take it back to Honda and tell them to fix it.

I took my car back to Honda and told them about the nicked line.  When I went to pick up my car, the customer service rep. told me that the line wasn’t the problem, it was a clamp (which they replaced free of charge).   I brought my vehicle home only to find that the leak on my driveway was significantly worse over the next few days.

I returned my car to my mechanic and asked him to take a look at it.  I was told that the dealership took away my Honda Power Steering Hose Clamp and replaced it with a Universal Clamp that had groves in it that made the situation worse.  At this point, I did not have any time to go back to Parkway Honda (as I was driving to New York), nor did I have any confidence whatsoever that they would do the right thing, so I instructed my new mechanic to fix the whole thing. I was shown the damage from the clamp and the nick in the Power Steering Line after it was taken off of my car.

Please see attachment for this bill totaling $150.  I don’t see why I should have to pay for something your mechanics did to my car during the recall.

To add insult to injury, when I took my car in for an oil/filter change and car detailing service, I was told that I needed a lot of work on my car to the tune of $1,600.00.   I found it interesting that one of the “necessary” jobs included the flushing of the power steering fluid.   I thought that was ironic since that service was just completed on my car and all the parts were brand new.  When I asked the employee why that specific job needed to be done and he said, “Because it was “black”.   My new mechanic laughed when I told him that one because he said it was impossible to tell and that it is always black.

If you are unable to help me with the concerns I have addressed in this letter, I would really appreciate the names and email addresses to someone who can.

Sincerely,

Maria Brown

I hope that clarifies the situation.  I’m not really interested in coming back to Honda for free car detailing because the last time I was told that, my husband had to pay for it.

whine

One thought on “The Better Business Bureau

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s