Koblenz

IMG_5991

Decided to visit a place called Koblenz before we head off to Cologne or koln.

IMG_5946

It was really something.  We took a cable car to the Ehrenbreitstein Fortress and saw the most magnificent view of the Rhine River overlooking the German Corner (Deitsches Eck).  That is where two rivers join.  It was neat watching huge boats get swept away at the corner trying to get up the next river.

IMG_6017

The fortress was quite grand too but it required a lot of walking which I am not in the best of health to do right now.  It took a lot out of me and I had to take a painkiller by the time we got to a restaurant where we could rest and eat.

I’ve come to the conclusion that there are really no gluten free options at any restaurants in Germany. I’m stuck pretty much just eating salad and the odd soup if I can find one with no milk, cheese, tomatoes or wheat.  However the view we had from the outside, then the inside (it was cold and we moved) was awesome.

IMG_5989

Maria had her pint of German beer (she claims she will have one everyday until her treatment starts and then she will be good).

IMG_6007

The fortress was immense.  It guarded the waterways and railway lines.  Here are some pics.

IMG_5941

Really could have used my heating pad after that long walk but I kind of blew it up in Weisbaden the night before.  I plugged it in and put it in my pillow to warm it up as I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth.  When I got back the thing was melting on my pillow.   Didn’t know the voltage was so high in Europe that even with a converter, it would overheat the heating pad.  The metal coils were protruding through the plastic cover. I was lucky I didn’t plug it in and take a bath because it would surely have caused a fire by the time I got back.  I didn’t know what to do with the smelly burning plastic thing.  I ended up shoving it on the shower floor so it would cool and disposed it in the morning.

Good thing I didn’t burn the hotel down.

 

 

Leave a Reply

